Pavlovsk is a delightful romantic
English park with a palace and pavilions. It was built in 1777 on the
land of Catherine 2nd and presented to her son Paul 1st in honour of the birth of
Alexander, her first grandson and the future Russian Emperor. The Pavlovsk Palace looks like an Italian palazzo. Pavlovsk is still famous
for its antiques and art collections.
The Pavlovsk palace and
park ensemble is located 27 kilometers away from St. Petersburg. In 1777
Catherine 2nd gave the grounds to the Great Duke Paul as a summer
residence. In 1779 a two-storied building called Marientahl was erected.
The intensive establishment of the Pavlovsk Park, Palace and pavilions
started in 1780.
C. Cameron spent over twenty years of his life creating the Pavlovsk
ensemble. In 1782-86 the designs of this architect were used for
construction of the Pavilion of the Three Graces, the Cage, the Dairy
House, the Apollo Colonnade, the Cold Bathhouse, the Temple of
Friendship, the Grand Cascade, the Elizabeth's Pavilion, the Circular
Hall, the Parents Memorial Pavilion, and the End of Universe Column. In
1786-99 the architect V. Brenna expanded the Palace wings, and added the
Italian Stairs, the Pill Tower, the Theatre Gates, the New and the Old
Sylvian Gates, the Amphitheatre, and the Ruin Cascade. In 1802-25 the
Air Theatre, the Viskontyev and Pill Tower bridges, the Pink Pavilion
and the Gates, the Farm, the Mausoleum of Paul I, and Mourning Gates
appeared in the Park .
The Pavlovsk Park is one of the
pearls of world landscape art.
Each of the seven major park
districts is marked by poetry, where the beauty of the northern
nature is combined with the exquisite skill of artists.
architectural centre of the Pavlovsk ensemble is the Grand
Pavlovsk Palace designed in the spirit of Russian Classicism by
Ch. Cameron. The main building of the palace is connected with
galleries and auxiliary wings decorated with a colonnade and
busts of great Russians. The palace is topped with a flat dome
resting on 64 small columns of the Tuscan order.
|The palace's outline
is austere and graceful at the same time. In the 1790s V.Brenna
enlarged the palace and continued the park's design. The palace
and park complex was finished in the early 19th century by the
architects A.Voronikhin, C.Rossi and T.de Thomon.
Around the palace there is an enormous
park covering an area of 600 ha. It consists of seven sections each defined by the exquisite uniqueness of layout. The splendid palace
section with its strict geometrical planning of lanes, parterres and positioning of statues imperceptibly melts
into the scenic view of the Slavyanka river valley. The arrangement of the Old Silvia is based on the ancient
Greek legends. The endless succession of scenes represents immeasurable grandeur of Russian nature, which goes
well with the refined buildings of Russian Classicism and magnificent sculptures.
The park was built step by step. In
1779 the construction of the park was headed by Ch.Cameron. He
outlined the limits of the park, defined the appearance of the
Grand Palace, the Slavyanka river valley and arranged the, One's
Own Garden and the Open-air Cage section. Near the palace the
architect located structures of park architecture prompted by
the ancient motifs. Among them there are the colonnade of
Apollo, the Temple of Friendship, the Elegant Enclosure, and the
Pavilion of the Three Graces. In the 1790's the construction of the park was supervised by V. Brenna. He
created the Parade Grand Circles, the Romantic Silvias, the Ruin
Cascade, the Pille tower and the Amphitheatre. A. Voronikhin
successfully finished the formation of the panoramic view of the
Slavyanka river valley started by Cameron. He also developed the
projects for the construction of the Viscontiev stone bridge
embellished with vases. One of the remarkable architectural
sights of Pavlovsk is the Temple of Friendship, the flat dome of
which rests on 60 columns.
||Bridges of different
shapes can be seen in the park of Pavlovsk : embellished with
exquisite wrought-iron railings and decorative vases and
The small bridges are added almost to all pavilions in the
Slavyanka river valley contributing to the ensemble's elegance.
The sections adjoining to the park are decorated with marble and
bronze statues of the ancient gods.